Adventure Time!!

I haven’t had a proper day out in a few months it feels like. I woke up around ten in the morning, and while I lay in bed surfing Reddit, I thought about what I wanted to do. How could I make the most of the day on a tight budget and a desire to walk around a bit.

I’ve mostly lived in mid-sized towns; you’re limited in facilities to accommodate Curiosity. However, I now live in the blue dot among the sea of red. I knew I could come up with something to amuse me for the day and get me out into the community.

Before grabbing a bus ticket, I decided that I wanted ice cream, and maybe eat that ice cream in a park. It was generally tolerable in terms of an Austin summer. I took the 17 into the city-proper, jumping off at the famed 6th Street.  I wanted to grab a cup of anything cool for my walk, and Jim Jim’s Water Ice was prominently on my mind. However, because I have an ironic sense of direction I ended up at Berry Austin on 2nd Street.ba-round-sticker-for-window_small-copy-e1440200947427

The beauty of certain parts of the city is the architecture and its ability to create breezes. Berry Austin on 2nd Street has a small table just outside the establishment and I figured if I didn’t walk to Margaret Hoffman Oak Park, I could park it there for a few minutes and scribble some notes down.

I hadn’t been to Berry Austin in a long time but I knew they had good yogurt from previous experience, so I fed my sweet-tooth with an odd mixture that I thought would have tasted much better than it did. I started with a base of chocolate. I then added… Root beer float. Not a syrupy carbonated soda, just something that tasted something along those lines.  Not my best moment with the combination of Oreo and Butterfinger crumbles. And about half of it melted before I finished, so that was nice. /s

From there I decided I wanted to just walk around a little bit, so I started in the direction of the Faulk Library. I was looking for a physical copy of The Girl With All the Gifts by M.R. Carey. It’s this month’s book choice for the book club “Who Picked This Book?”. I have a digital copy, but there’s just something about those wonderfully bound pads of paper.

I ended up walking down the remainder of 6th Street until it ran into North Lamar. A nice walk; it was not long, but certainly interesting. bookpeople_blue_smallAnd since I happen to be there, I might as well go to the Book People. I made no mistake by walking this far. I wanted to visit Book People since I hadn’t been into the store since the winter.

Grabbing a mocha latte, I wondered around the store. I knew having seen the trailer for Gifts, that it would be displayed prominently somewhere in the building, I just had to find it.I found it in the most obvious place, beside the staircase to the second floor. Flipping it over, I sighed. I keep a pretty firm budget when I go on an adventure. Putting the book down, I backed away. I’ll check Half-Price.

I wandered all over that place. Had to have seen every shelf at least twice. I’d pick up a book, hold it for a few minutes and then put it back. “Do I have the space…” would blip on the radar everytime I touched a book. After exhausting my latte and covering each floor numerous times I grabbed my bag and headed out.

Traveling from Book People up Henderson Rd., I found a little nook off the side of 9th Street BMX created by a bridge that cuts through the lower portion of Duncan Park. All the bridges that crisscross the city are great. I like bridgework and think almost any city can improve its curb-appeal by adding waterways and bridges to the over all infrastructure. From there I walked up random streets before making my way to the Faulk Library.

At the library I started my search for a book on the Seventies. I’ve hit a snag with my historical fiction story and needed prespective on the decade. Time to hit up the card catalo… Oh wait, everything is digital. Hello, Database.

I parsed the stacks and found a book by Bruce J. Schulman. The Seventies: The Great Shift in American Culture, Society, and Politics. Perfect! I scribbled down the address to Knowledge’s house and hoofed it.

I searched the second floor top to bottom. I just couldn’t locate the book. Once I gave up and let my curiosity get the best of me I traveled to the third floor. I knew something was fishy about that second floor.  There in the stacks, the book I wanted, stood.

After the library I caught the 17 back home and grabbed a bite at Dan’s Hamburgers to finish out the day.

T.